HOW NELSON MANDELA MET WINNIE

As an ardent supporter to Winnie rather than Mandela I will dedicate at least five blogs to the great African woman who fought apartheid in South Africa bringing some collections my opinion on the South African struggle etc.

Wiinie was the sixth of eleven children of CK Madikizela, a school principle turned businessman. Her given name was Namzamo, which means one who strives or undergoes trials, a name I think was prophetic if one followed how she lived. She came from Bizana in pondoland, an area adjacent to part to the part of Transkei. She aws from Phondo clan of amaNgutyana and her great grandfather was, a powerful chief in nineteenth-century Ntal who had settled in Natal Transakei at the time of the iMfecane

‘’…… one afternoon, during a recess in the preparatory examination, I drove a friend from Orlando to the medical school at the university of the Witwatersrand and went past Baragwaneth hospital the leading black hospital in Johannesburg. As I passed a nearby bus stop, I noticed out of the corner of my eye a lovely young woman waiting for the bus. I was struck by her but beauty and i turned my head to get a better look at her but my car had gone to fast. This woman’s face stayed with me- I even considered turning round to drive by her in the other direction – but I went on.

Some weeks thereafter a curious incident occurred. I was at office, and when i pooped in to see Oliver, there was this same young woman with her brother, siiting infront of Olivers desk. I was taken aback, and did my best not to show my surprise or my delight at this. Oliver introduced me to them and explained that they were visting them on a leagal matter. Her name was Nomzamo Winifred Madikizela but she was known as Winnie. she had recently completed her studies at the Jan Hofmeyr school of social work in Johannesburg and was working as the first female social worker at Baragwaneth Hospital. At the time i paid little attention to her background or legal problem for something in me was deeply stirred by her presence. I was thinking more of how I could ask her out than how our firm would handle her case. I cannot say for certain if there is such a thing as love at first sight but I do know that the moment I first Glimpsed Winnie Namzamo, I knew that I wanted to have her as my wife…..’’ Mandela Long Walk to Freedom

she had recently completed her studies at the Jan Hofmeyr school of social work in Johannesburg and was working as the first female social worker at Baragwaneth Hospital. At the time i paid little attention to her background or legal problem for something in me was deeply stirred by her presence. I was thinking more of how I could ask her out than how our firm would handle her case. I cannot say for certain if there is such a thing as love at first sight but I do know that the moment I first Glimpsed Winnie Namzamo, I knew that I wanted to have her as my wife…..’’ Mandela Long Walk to Freedom

Atuheire Brian Batenda

Leave a comment