Happy Fathers Day To Mzee Batenda Geoffrey

Father’s Day is not as respected and popularly observed as Mother’s Day. There is a simple reason for this. Although almost everyone has difficult issues with their mothers, there is no doubt as to their mother’s love. The same is not true for fathers. Because men have a more difficult time expressing their feelings to their children, many children go through life with the mistaken notion that their fathers don’t love them. This is a tragedy because fathers generally love their children dearly and often work long hours so that they can raise their children in comfort.

However in my case this is different for I enjoyed my father’s love more than other ordinary kids the fun, the laughter, the hope, and the inquisitive nature of exploring my world was a journey my father guided me through.

You taught me new words; you made me learn and practice reading both silently and aloud with expression, and made me get exposed to rhymes taught me storytelling and singing. (Remember my father is an old school teacher). How about eating with you on the same plate a virtue that African men don’t cherish, you are a different dad very liberal and accommodating to the core!

There is what I can’t forget that as a teenager I would fall sick quite often and I feel that without my father may be I wouldn’t have grown up to be a man I have grown up to be. I remember I would wake up on my hospital beds and my father was like the fresh air that I breathe in for he would protect me like flesh and blood protected by skin, and the heart that beats deep within, he was by my side through my problems, thick and thin. How about the counsel that he gives me up to date! Including those when I am down and have lost he tells me that moments of sorrow are few And each of them teaches us a chapter that is new and that’s life.

When I was a kid, you would hold me in your arms. I felt the love and tenderness,
keeping me safe from harm. I would look up into your eyes, and all the love I would see. I got so lucky to get our love which is so everlasting;

As a kid when I watched you walk, leaving behind your foot mark, I leaped and jumped to match that stride, never succeeded however hard I tried. I still struggle every moment every single day to stick to your path, no matter come what may, what I can promise is that I have unbounded faith and principles to lead the way. For I remember that after every fall of mine you made me stand up right, wiping away my tears and making me smile bright (a genuine character I have learnt to give to those I love,)
Inspiring me not to lose my heart in the moments of fright, telling me the real meaning of life is to fight. No matter how serious it is, you always seem prepared. You are the greatest dad have the best father’s day.